KHSAA RULES AND REGULATIONS

Governing Fast Pitch Softball Tournaments

(Adopted by the Board of Control)

(Case situations refer to rulings and interpretations used to administer these provisions which can be found in the next section of the Handbook)

I) Assignment of Schools to Districts, Regions, and Sections

The Kentucky High School Athletic Association shall sponsor postseason competition in softball for girls, provided that fifteen (15) percent of the member schools declare intentions to participate in said competition. Member schools desiring to participate in KHSAA sponsored postseason competition shall notify the Association office prior to March 1. The Commissioner shall divide the state into geographic sections with the approval of the Board of Control. The alignment shall begin with the 2005-2006 school year, and shall be reviewed upon the request of a member school with a request concerning that particular school on a biennial basis (every two years). The entire alignment shall be a reviewed with changes to be in effect for the 2009-2010 school year and every four years thereafter. In the interim, newly added or deleted programs will be handled on a case by case basis by the Commissioner's office

As of August 1, 2009, the alignment for girls' fast pitch softball is as follows:

REGION 1

- District 1 Carlisle County, Fulton City, Fulton County, Hickman County
- District 2 Heath, Lone Oak, Paducah Tilghman, Reidland
- District 3 Ballard Memorial, Graves County, Mayfield, St. Mary
- District 4 Calloway County, Christian Fellowship, Marshall County, Murray

REGION 2

- District 5 Crittenden County, Livingston Central, Lyon County, Trigg County
- District 6 Henderson County, Providence, Union County, Webster County
- District 7 Caldwell County, Dawson Springs, Hopkins County Central, Madisonville-North Hopkins
- District 8 Christian County, Fort Campbell, Hopkinsville, University Heights

REGION 3

- District 9 Apollo, Daviess County, Owensboro, Owensboro Catholic
- District 10 McLean County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County
- District 11 Breckinridge County, Frederick Fraize, Hancock County, Meade County
- District 12 Butler County, Edmonson County, Grayson County, Trinity (Whitesville)

REGION 4

- District 13 Franklin-Simpson, Logan County, Russellville, Todd County Central
- District 14 Bowling Green, Greenwood, South Warren (beginning 2010-11), Warren Central, Warren East
- District 15 Allen County-Scottsville, Barren County, Glasgow, Monroe County
- District 16 Clinton County, Cumberland County, Metcalfe County, Russell County

REGION 5

- District 17 Central Hardin, Elizabethtown, Fort Knox, John Hardin, North Hardin
- District 18 Caverna, Green County, Hart County, LaRue County
- District 19 Bardstown, Bethlehem, Nelson County, Washington County
- District 20 Adair County, Campbellsville, Marion County, Taylor County

REGION 6

- District 21 Beth Haven, Holy Cross (Louisville), Pleasure Ridge Park, Valley, Western
- District 22 Doss, Evangel Christian, Iroquois
- District 23 Butler, Central, Portland Christian, Presentation, Shawnee
- District 24 Bullitt Central, Bullitt East, Fairdale, North Bullitt, Southern

REGION 7

- District 25 DuPont Manual, Louisville Collegiate, Male, Mercy
- District 26 Assumption, Atherton, Fern Creek, Moore, Whitefield Academy
- District 27 Ballard, Sacred Heart, Seneca, Waggener
- District 28 Christian Academy-Louisville, Eastern, Jeffersontown, Kentucky Country Day

REGION 8

- District 29 North Oldham, Oldham County, South Oldham, Trimble County
- District 30 Anderson County, Collins (beginning 2010-11), Eminence, Shelby County, Spencer County
- District 31 Carroll County, Gallatin County, Henry County, Owen County
- District 32 Grant County, Simon Kenton, Walton-Verona, Williamstown

REGION 9

- District 33 Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Ryle
- District 34 Heritage, Dixie Heights, St. Henry, Villa Madonna
- District 35 -Beechwood, Holmes, Holy Cross(Covington), Notre Dame
- District 36- Bellevue, Dayton, Highlands, Newport, Newport Central Catholic

REGION 10

- District 37 Bishop Brossart, Campbell County, Scott
- District 38 Harrison County, Nicholas County, Pendleton County
- District 39 Bracken County, Mason County, St. Patrick
- District 40 Bourbon County, George Rogers Clark, Montgomery County, Paris

REGION 11

- District 41 Frankfort, Franklin County, Western Hills, Woodford County
- District 42 Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Sayre, Scott County
- District 43 Lafayette, Lexington Catholic, Lexington Christian, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek
- District 44 Berea, Madison Central, Madison Southern, Model

REGION 12

- District 45 Boyle County, Danville, Garrard County, Lincoln County
- District 46 Burgin, East Jessamine, Mercer County, West Jessamine
- District 47 Casey County, Pulaski County, Rockcastle County, Somerset
- District 48 McCreary Central, Monticello, Southwestern, Wayne County

REGION 13

- District 49 Clay County, Jackson County, North Laurel, Oneida Baptist, Red Bird
- District 50 Corbin, South Laurel, Whitley County, Williamsburg
- District 51 Barbourville, Knox Central, Lynn Camp, Pineville
- District 52 Bell County, Cawood, Cumberland, Evarts, Harlan, Middlesboro

REGION 14

- District 53 Cordia, Jenkins, June Buchanan, Knott County Central, Letcher County Central
- District 54 Buckhorn, Hazard, Leslie County, Perry County Central
- District 55 Breathitt County, Jackson City, Riverside Christian, Wolfe County
- District 56 Estill County, Lee County, Owsley County, Powell County

REGION 15

- District 57 Johnson Central, Lawrence County, Magoffin County, Paintsville, Sheldon Clark
- District 58 Allen Central, Betsy Layne, Prestonsburg, South Floyd
- District 59 East Ridge, Pikeville, Shelby Valley
- District 60 Belfry, Phelps, Pike County Central

REGION 16

- District 61 Bath County, Fleming County, Menifee County, Rowan County
- District 62 East Carter, Elliott County, Morgan County, West Carter
- District 63 Greenup County, Lewis County, Raceland, Russell
- District 64 Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Fairview, Rose Hill