2008 Kentucky High School Athletic Association

Boys’ & Girls’ State Tennis Championships

UK Boone/Downing Tennis Complex, Lexington


Girls’ Final Top Team Standings

1.  Sacred Heart 14; 2. Lexington Catholic 11; t3. Lone Oak and North Oldham 9; 5. Lexington Christian 8; 6. Notre Dame 7.


Girls’ Singles


Lauren Kline (North Oldham) def. Spencer Rhodes (Sacred Heart) 6-0, 6-1

Samantha Maddox (Lexington Catholic) def. CeCe Witten (Boyle Co.) 6-3, 2-6, 6-0


State Championship

Kline def. Maddox 7-6 (8-6), 6-4


Girls’ Doubles


Hannah English/McCall Hedrick (Sacred Heart) def. Caroline Kerrick/Audrey Akers (Lexington Catholic) 6-2, 6-2

McKinley Mason/Elle Coldiron (Lexington Christian) def. Emily Mallory/Ellie Gerlach (Christian Academy-Louisville) 7-5, 6-2


State Championship

English/Hedrick def. Mason/Coldiron 7-5, 6-3


Girls’ Honors

Kentucky National Guard Leadership Award – Audrey Akers (Lexington Catholic)

Forcht Group of Kentucky Sportsmanship Award – Lacey May (Morgan Co.)


Kentucky Tennis Coaches Association All-State

Lauren Kline (North Oldhma), Kelsey Fulkerson (Paul Dunbar), Haley Hart (Lincoln County), CeCe Witten (Boyle County), Madeline Phillips (Assumption), Samantha Maddox (Lexington Catholic), Spencer Rhodes (Sacred Heart), Claire Spradlin (Russell)

Candace Skaggs (Grayson Co.), Ann Morris (Lexington Catholic), Allie Gullett (Lexington Christian), Cristin Shaughnessy (Notre Dame), Emily Roebker (Notre Dame), Hannah English (Sacred Heart), McCall Hedrick (Sacred Heart), McKinley Mason (Lexington Christian), Elle Coldiron (Lexington Christian)


Boys’ Final Top Team Standings

1. DuPont Manual 11; t2. Henry Clay and Kentucky Country Day 10; t4. Christian Academy-Louisville and St. Xavier 8; t5. South Oldham, Covington Catholic and Lone Oak 6.


Boys’ Singles


Eric Quigley (South Oldham) def. Jimmy Roebker (Covington Catholic) 6-0, 6-1

Phillip Arndt (Garrard Co.) def. Aaron Wicker (DuPont Manual) 7-6(7-5, 6-2


State Championship

Quigley def. Arndt 6-1, 6-2


Boys’ Doubles


Elliott Farmer/Will Palmer (Henry Clay) def. Geoffrey Riggs/Kyle Coronel (St. Xavier) 6-4, 6-3

Colby Buchanan/Brett Johnson (Christian Academy-Louisville) def. Dylan Gerlach/Ben Newstadt (DuPont Manual) 6-2, 2-6, 6-1


State Championship

Buchanan/Johnson def. Farmer/Palmer 7-6(3), 6-3


Boys’ Honors

Kentucky National Guard Leadership Award – Eric Quigley (South Oldham)

Forcht Group of Kentucky Sportsmanship Award – Phillip Arndt (Garrard Co.)


Kentucky Tennis Coaches Association All-State

Aaron Wicker (DuPont Manual), Richard Canelas (Highlands), Maks Gold (Kentucky Country Day), Phillip Arndt (Garrard County), Eric Quigley (South Oldham), Grant Roberts (Tates Creek), Jimmy Roebker (Covington Catholic), Will Davis (Kentucky Country Day), Elliott Farmer (Henry Clay), Will Palmer (Henry Clay), Colby Buchanan (Christian Academy-Louisville), Brett Johnson (Christian Academy-Louisville), Daarik Gray (Mercer Co.), Charlie Pittard (Paducah Tilghman), Joseph Glass (Bourbon Co.), Bryan Bailey (Covington Catholic), Ben Newstadt (DuPont Manual)